The Kingdom of God

The Kingdom Of God

Kingdom as translated in the New Testament is from the Greek word “Basileia”—meaning: rule, dominion and realm. It means royal right or authority. A kingdom also means a territory or realm that is governed or ruled by a King.

 From scriptures, it is clear that our Lord Jesus’ coming to earth was to establish the Kingdom of God on earth. His birth; his Ministry; his death and resurrection was for that sole purpose. And of course, he is the king and Lord of this same kingdom of God, he came to establish.

He governs this kingdom of God for the Father by the help of the Holy Ghost—who is the Power of the Godhead. Here is what the scriptures says concerning this in Isaiah 9:6-7

 “For unto us a child is born, unto us a Son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder; and his name shall be called wonderful, counsellor, the mighty God, the everlasting Father, the prince of peace. Of the increase of his government there shall be no end, upon the throne of David, and upon his kingdom, to order it, and to establish it with judgment and with justice from henceforth even for ever. The zeal of the LORD of hosts will perform this.”

This kingdom of God that the Lord Jesus Christ came to establish is also referred to in some portions of the scriptures as the kingdom of heaven. So according to scriptures, the kingdom of heaven is another name for the kingdom of God.

The Phases of God’s Kingdom

From scriptures we can understand that there are majorly two phases to the kingdom of God. And these are:

  1. Heart Reign: The number one and the primary phase of God’s kingdom is the reign, rule or dominion of Christ in the heart of an individual by faith (Ephesians 3:17).  So an individual that submits his heart to the dominion or direction of God in his heart through the Holy Spirit is already in the Kingdom of God right here and now.

     He is already a son of God. And as such, he is already qualified for the second phase of God’s Kingdom. Immediately someone submits his life to the rule of God in his heart, he gets delivered from the power (or kingdom) of darkness into the kingdom of the dear Son of God—Jesus Christ. That is, the spiritual kingdom of God in the heart.

  2. The Territorial Reign: The second phase of God’s kingdom is the territorial reign of God over all his saints and ministering spirits (Angels). Heaven is God’s Territorial Kingdom. It is the realm of God’s kingdom. Everyone who submits himself or herself to God’s reign in the heart already has access to the territorial realm of God’s Kingdom both now and hereafter…

     This realm is called heaven. And it will finally become the New Jerusalem (New Heaven  and New Earth) after the end of this world (See  Ephesians 2:6-7; Revelation 4:1-11; Revelation 21:1-7)

The Key Features of The Kingdom of God

The two phases of God’s Kingdom we’ve discussed above is characterised by four striking Features from scriptures. These are:

  1. Righteousness—Justice or Equity—( see Isaiah 9:7; Romans 14:17)
  2. Peace (See Romans 14:17)
  3. Joy (See Romans 14:17)
  4. Demonstration of Power—Miraculous or Supernatural Power (dynamis) and Authoritative Power (exousia)—see 1Corinthians 4:20)

Qualifications For the Kingdom of God

Below are the two scriptural qualifications for the kingdom of God or the Kingdom of Heaven:

  1. Being Born Again: “Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God”–(  John 3:3)
    The Lord clearly says from the above scripture, that without being born again, no one can see the kingdom of God. So the number one qualifier for seeing the kingdom of God now and hereafter is to be born again by the Spirit of God by receiving Jesus as your Lord and Saviour through faith.

  2. Godliness: “Now the works of the flesh are manifest, which are these; Adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lasciviousness, Idolatry, witchcraft, hatred, variance, emulations, wrath, strife, seditions, heresies, envyings, murders, drunkenness, revellings, and such like: of the which I tell you before, as I have also told you in time past, that they which do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God”—Galatians 5:19-21.

    The above scripture says anyone who practices the above mentioned works of the flesh and such likes, shall not inherit the kingdom of God. Which means if we must inherit the kingdom of God, we must depart from the works of the flesh and walk in godliness or in the Spirit. Having been saved, we need to also live a sanctified life to be guaranteed of our inheritance of the kingdom of God or the kingdom of Heaven.

To receive the Lord Jesus today as your Lord and Personal Saviour, in order to have instant access to the kingdom of God right now, Click Here.

Remain Blessed!

Emeke Odili

Spread the love
Emeke Odili